Easy Mock Tuna Salad

After buying Vegetarian Plus brand vegan tuna, I became head over heels in love with it.  But not for the price.  Since I can’t find it in stores anywhere around here, I had to resort to buying it online which ended up drying my wallet out after shipping costs.  I had to come up with a cheap way to make tasty “tuna” salad.  And after scouring through recipes online, and a little tweaking, I think I’ve come up with the best homemade vegan tuna salad.  This makes a lot, so no need to worry about lunch for about a week.  And it is omni (Luke) approved. Enjoy!

Mock Tuna Salad

2 cans chickpeas (garbanzo beans)

1/2 medium-sized white onion

1 1/2 tbsp dijon mustard

1/4 to 1/2 cup Vegenaise

1 dill pickle or equivalent of dill pickle relish

1 tsp salt

pepper to taste

roasted seaweed (optional)

Drain both cans of chickpeas and rinse very well.  Mash up with a fork or place in a food processor to get them to the consistency of shredded tuna.  Place chickpeas in a mixing bowl.  Dice the pickle and half of the white onion and place in bowl.  Mix in Vegenaise (amount depends on how creamy you want it), mustard, salt and pepper.  I know I said the roasted seaweed is optional, but I would highly recommend putting it in there.  It’s what gives it that slightly “fishy” flavor.  You can usually find a package of multiple sheets in the Asian section in your grocery.  I found mine at Kroger.  They are supposed to be used for sushi, so I took an entire sheet (approx. 8″ by 9″) and crumpled it as fine as possible and threw it in the mix.  Don’t be scared.  It adds the finishing flavor touch.  Mix well and scoop on toasted bread with lettuce, tomato, or whatever your heart desires!  Also great on crackers!

Leave a Reply

