Deviled Potatoes…the new summer side

I stumbled upon this recipe while looking for potato salad recipes on VegWeb.com.  We were going to a cookout later at the boyfriend’s parents and I thought it would be nice to share some vegan tastiness.  I was strapped for cash and was looking for a simple recipe that didn’t require 8 gazillion ingredients I didn’t have.  While scrolling around I saw “My Husband’s Deviled Egg Solution: Potato Angels!” and thought to myself, “hmmm.”  I checked out the pics and indeed they looked just like deviled eggs.  If they tasted anything like those oblong shells of cruelty, then I was on board.  But I decided if I was going to bring these to the family, I had to drop the name.  Deviled Potatoes just seemed much more appropriate.

8 new potatoes (I used baby red-skins)

1-2 tbsp olive oil

5 tbsp Vegenaise

1 tsp yellow mustard

1 tbsp finely chopped onion

Dash of hot sauce

Dash of garlic powder

Dash of salt and pepper

Dash of turmeric (for yellow color)

Dusting of paprika at end

Preheat oven to 350.  Pick potatoes that most closely resemble eggs.  If you can’t find many, screw it.  Just grab some, they’re gonna taste delicious anyway.  Peel potatoes and slice in half.  Brush on olive oil to all sides.  Place potatoes flat side down on greased cookie sheet.  Bake for 30 to 45 minutes, until they are soft.

Mix all other ingredients (minus paprika) in a bowl and set aside in fridge so it stays cold.  When potatoes are done, let cool for 10 minutes then cut out a bowl in the flat side of each potato with sharp knife.  Put these potato “innards” into Vegenaise mixture and mix well.  After all potatoes are scooped out, fill them with the Vegenaise mixture and dust them with paprika.  Refrigerate them for later or eat them while the potatoes are still a little warm.  Makes 16 Deviled Potatoes.

I suggest making a shit-ton.  I took these to the cookout and there were more people than I expected and not nearly enough to go around.  I was the only vegan there and just about everyone raved about how good they were.  They did however make it a point to tell me “they aren’t eggs, but they’re still good.”  I thought they were fantastic.  Potatoes with a creamy filling?  I’m there.

Leave a Reply

