The Swan Dive

Recently we visited a bar in Germantown called The Swan Dive.  A dive it was.  It wasn’t a place you would know about if you didn’t live in the neighborhood, or knew someone in a band that was playing there.  But found it we did, with my trusty Happy Cow app on my android phone.  Vegans and bar food don’t typically mesh too often, but here it was as common as Italians eating pasta.

It opens at 5PM daily and closes at 2AM, except on Sunday and Mondays when they’re closed.  Inside it felt like some random hole-in-the-wall bar, until you look at the menu and notice you can order vegan mac-n-cheese!  What?!!  Oh yeah.  Though I wasn’t a huge fan of it myself, my omni boyfriend liked it.  I think it was the wheat pasta taste I wasn’t a huge fan of.

I ordered a vegan reuben with mac-n-cheese and he ordered the veggie burger with fries.  The vegan reuben was filled with sauerkraut, tomato Field Roast brand “meat” that had the taste of pepperoni, and veganaise–the best tasting mayonnaise around.  Other menu items included BBQ, Philly Cheesesteak, and Chicken Salad that can all be made vegan.  I will definitely be returning here.  Plus they have shows and trivia nights.

Leave a Reply

